February 1, 1912: Bill Lashly changes his shirt

–from Bill Lashly’s diary, quoted in Cherry-Garrard’s “The Worst Journey in the World”–

“We had a very fine day but a very heavy pull, but we did 13 miles.  Mr Evans and myself have been out 100 days today.  I have had to change my shirt again.  This is the last clean side I have got.  I have been wearing two shirts and each side will now have done duty next the skin, as ai have changed round each month, and I have certainly found the benefit of it, and on the point we all three agree.

“Mr Evans is still gradually worse:  it is no good closing our eyes to the fact.  We must push on as we have a long way to go yet.”

Leave a Reply

