London, February 1914: Shackleton seeks Naval seamen for the Expedition

–undated memorandum from Shackleton to the Admiralty–

“I have received a large number of applications from men and officer in H. M. Navy . . . Naturally my inclination . . .would be to have some of these men . . . for the good of the expedition . . . and for the moral good I feel will result for a happy combination of the premier service with our mercantile marine . . . as an old merchant officer, I feel deeply the compliment that these men pay me in asking to serve under me . . . tried men and good comrades would mean for me the easing of a load of responsibility.”

Leave a Reply

