March 4, 1914: Shackleton at the Royal Geograhical Society

Shackleton was invited to address a committee of the Royal Geographical Society on March 4th, 1914. In response to a question about possible accidents along the TransAntarctic trail, he replied:

“If a man broke his leg, or anything like that, and I was on the outward track, I would turn for that man and go back to my winter quarters. If I had got beyond the Pole, I would go on as I could, and it is up to him to do what is right. If I had got just half-way I would turn back to the Weddell Sea. If I had passed that and was nearer to the Ross Sea, I would have to go on.”

Leave a Reply

