Shackleton’s ‘Endurance’ Expedition, September 1915: ‘Mr. Wordie, more stones for you.’

–from an interview with “Antarctic Chef” Charlie Green–

“One day I was cleaning some penguins and Shackleton came along and said, ‘Chef, I’m going to relieve you of that job. Let Wordie and the scientists do it—they have nothing to do!’ Well, I thought there’s something behind this move. Wordie was younger than me and he was a clever devil! Perhaps they have already found gold in the stomachs [actually, the stones would be found in the crops] of the penguins. They must have thought I was going to find it and crib it. . . .

“Later, I was cleaning some sultanas [figs] in a big box. Cheetham [the Third Officer] was in the galley when I found some [fig] stones. He said, ‘Go and find Wordie. Tell him you have found some strange stones in the penguins.’ So I went along and said, ‘Mr. Wordie, more stones for you.’

“He just looked at me, shook his head, and said, ‘I think they are from Smyrna, Turkey.’ You see, he had seen the name on the side of the sultana box.”

Leave a Reply

