Shackleton’s ‘Endurance’ Expedition, November 28, 1915: “I had to part with my pet Misses Chippie. . . .”

–from the diary of ship’s carpenter Harry McNeish—

“Sunday Nov 28th Lat 68-22 South Long 52-24 West Temp Plus 20 We got 3 seals today I am not working today as I feel a bit off with my old troubles the piles they have been exercising the dogs round the floe I expect we will have to part with the dogs one of those days as we cant take them with us in the boats it will be a sad day as we all have taking to the dogs I had to part with my pet Misses Chippie the day after we left the ship I was hut but I knew it was impossible to take her with us

Leave a Reply

