Shackleton’s Ross Sea Party, January 12, 1916: “Built a large cairn with 4 flags. Latitude 81ºS. “

–from Ernest Joyce’s account “The South Polar Trail”—

“January 12, Wednesday. Up 5.30. Under way as usual. Although it is snowing, it is worth while to make the effort. Towards 10.30 my eyes troubled me, my sight had vanished. I was compelled to ask the Skipper to steer. Lunch. Distance 4 miles 1,100 yards. Once more we pulled over the soft snow and thick atmosphere.

“With my eyes bandaged and pulling behind the Padre, it seems a holiday to me, in spite of several falls. To maintain my position, I kept my hold on the trace. About 5, released the bandages; eyes much relieved.

“Camp 6.30. Built a large cairn with 4 flags. Latitude 81ºS. We placed on top of this depot 4 weeks’ oil and biscuits, sufficient food to carry 12 men to 80 ºS, [That is, for the six men of the transcontinental party, and the six men of the Ross Sea party continuing now on their way to lay the next depot at 82 ºS., when they are all on their way north again.] Distance 9 miles 570 yards. Turned in 8 p.m., tired, but satisfied.”

Leave a Reply

