Shackleton’s ‘Endurance’ Expedition, March 1916: “I was cooking all the time. .. .”

–from the recollections of Charlie Green, expedition cook—

“I was cooking all the time. I was occupied and never got with a crowd. I was in the galley and never got in any conversation for I was too busy. I was cooking for eight hours a day and when I finished I went to the tent and laid in my sleeping-bag. Everybody else was already in their bags. Except Wild. The ‘Boss’ would send him round to each tent to have a word with the men. He used to tell us all the calories and vitamins in every bit of food we ate. He used to tell us practically every mouthful we weighed out. We got proper fed up with it! He did it to keep us quiet, you see.

“And then Hussey used to come in our tent and play us a tune. They used to take it in turns. Sometimes, it was peaceful, other times. . . .the suspense, you see,

“But it didn’t matter, every morning I was up early doing the cooking.”

Leave a Reply

