Shackleton’s Ross Sea Party, July, 1916: “. . . . a better pal amidst toil and trouble never existed.”

–from the diary of Ernest Joyce, published as “The South Polar Trail”—

“All was going well until one day Richy [R. W. Richards] collapsed. He threw up his arms, gave a cry, and fell down in a faint. Cope was soon to his aid; the long journey had strained his heart. No words could express my sorrow when I heard the news. He had been my constant companion for ten months, and a better pal amidst toil and trouble never existed. Cope gave me every hope, with that I had to be comforted. All the same, I felt a broken man.” [Richards survived]

Leave a Reply

